top of page
  • Writer's pictureLife of Lindsey

HAIR EXTENSIONS.

Updated: Jan 31, 2019

If you follow me on social media or just actually have met me before, you would know I love a good set of extensions! Throughout high school to now I have constantly colored my hair from platinum blonde to dark brown basically black without giving my hair a break. Sometimes I had my sister who is a professional stylist color my hair and other times I had dumb moments and grabbed a box of hair color off the shelf at the grocery store & did it myself. I did attend hair school and Half way finished ( we will get into that on another post though!) so I do know that it is not a smart idea to go from basically black to blonde to black or to use box dye from the store. This is how I ended up with extensions! Throughout this process of me constantly changing my hair I ended up always having to cut more and more off the length to try and get my hair back to a healthy state. Now I have tried many different brands and types of extensions. I haven't tried tape ins but I plan to in the future so stay tuned :)






For brands of u-tip & I-tip extensions I used a brand from Sallys called satin strands. These were 100% remy human hair. You can find them on Sallys website which is Sallybeauty.com . In each pack there is about 20 strands so depending on how thick your hair is will depend on how many packs you need. Since I have thin fine hair I roughly used 6 packs if I am remembering correctly! The packs are about $33 each. I didn't truly love these just due to the fact that they took a couple hours to have them installed and getting them out it took a bit also. Another reason I didn't truly like them is because when my hair would grow out and I would have to be very careful brushing my hair & extensions or else strands would fall out. I did come to the realization that the darker hair colors lasted a lot longer than the lighter colors / blonde. The blonde ones tended to get dry VERY quickly and looked super damaged after just a couple weeks. So If you are interested in trying this type of extensions & brand I do NOT recommend it for someone with lighter hair.




For the Clip in extensions I have used both Bellami & also Euro Next (brand from Sallys). Now I used the euro next brand when I was in high school up until I graduated. They were pretty good for the price, about $120. But now after checking their website their prices have gone up to $144. The euro next brand is defiantly thinner quality than the bellami brand ones for sure. After high school I bit the bullet and spent the money on a set of bellman extensions. They can be PRETTY pricy in my opinion depending on length, thickness, ect. ...But I decided to try them out. So the first ones I ever bought were the Piccolina Dark brown set. They were $130 and 120grams. I was very impressed by the hair quality and could wait to put them in! Below is a picture of my first set ever!



Now. I did state with the other type of extensions the blonde ones weren't so great. I can honestly say I feel the same way about the Bellami Clip ins also. For some reason all the blonde types of extensions I've tried they just don't work for me. I may be doing something wrong but I am honestly not sure. The blonde bellami's I've tried have been in the shades Butter Blonde and also dirty blonde. Both didn't get dry too quick but they did NOT hold a curl like my brown ones in the picture above. My brown ones above had no hairspray and could last with a curl for 3ish days. My blonde ones on the other hand are a different story. The blonde ones for some reason wouldn't hold a curl it would fall more into a wave even after using almost a whole can of strong hold hair spray. Even though the blonde sets weren't my absolute favorite I do recommend this brand of extensions 100%!



If you have any questions leave me a comment below !


-xox Lindsey



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page